Fly Fishing, Fly tying, Mountain Biking

Hilton Head 2010 Vacation

Each year we go on a big vacation with all of Anna’s family to the beach. We’ve gone to Charleston, but as of recent we’ve been going to Hilton Head and staying in the Sea Pines area. Last year, was my first year of going to Sea Pines and I noticed there were a good bit of small lakes in the area, so this year meant taking my fly rod with me. We showed up on saturday and stayed through thursday afternoon. We spent every morning at the beach, relaxed in the afternoon and had a great time at night, sometimes at the Salty Dog and sometimes just chilling at the house. In the morning, I would get up early and hit the closest pond to the house. Not knowing what was in these lakes, I brought a little of everything that I could fit in my sling pack. I had to keep it simple since most of the time, I was on my bike and had to go minimalist style. On my first day out there, I missed a bunch of strikes on top with a popper. On the second day though, I finally hooked up and brought in a sea trout. I hooked up with another fish but ended breaking off when my line got wrapped around my reel, it was definitely a big fish. I caught another one on wednesday and nothing else by thursday. Anna’s dad, two brothers and myself tried to go shark fishing but due to rough seas, the heat, my own personal chum line and only 1 bonnet head shark hook up, it wasn’t a great trip. I’ve decided since then that the only fishing I’m going to be doing is rivers, lake and inter coastal fishing. All in all it was an excellent trip, I definitely look forward to each year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

