Fly Fishing, Fly tying, Mountain Biking

Gale Force Winds???

They don’t mean anything…I hit the Dam this morning with the weather not going above 40 degrees and winds over 15 mph. I layered up and I rigged my 7’6″ 7wt rod with a power forward taper floating line. The line doesn’t do good with any cast 10-15′ out, but anything past that its golden. When I got to the river it was still pea green from this years Lake turnover, which made visibility maybe 1′ deep with the sun out. I started out throwing a green king nymph and chartreuse zebra midge with absolutely no luck. The only activity I saw for the first 2 hours was one strike on my indicator and that was it. I made it down to Bowman’s Island working a spot that was very good to me this year and saw 3 risers and I threw everything I knew at them with no luck. I finally tied on a size 16 Chartreuse Depth Charge SH and had a LDR. I ended up moving to the other side of the Island and started working my way up and I picked up two browns on a orange Depth Charge SH. So all in all I had 2 hand, 1 LDR and 2 strikes at my indicator. The best thing was just getting out and fishing for awhile.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

