Fly Fishing, Fly tying, Mountain Biking

Project Rebuild…

For those of you that have met I’m sure you’ve heard about me talk about my “my trip”, for those of you who haven’t I’ll give you a brief rundown.  My trip was a cross country bike trip from Virginia Beach, VA to Cannon Beach, Or.  I did this trip back in 2004 and as fate would have it met my wonderful wife right before it. The trip was with a group called Bike and Build, this great organization was created by a man named Marc Bush and was made to help spread the word about the need for Affordable Housing. For this trip each rider (usually a college student) must raise $4000 for the trip and with the raised money they will be given a bike and the task of riding over 4000 miles and helping build houses along the way and donating money at each town. It was the experience of a lifetime that I will never forget, now this brings me to this post.

The bike I was given was a Trek 1000, that I absolutely demolished while on the trip. While on the trip I broke 2 rear wheels, snapped a chain that wrapped around the rear derailleur, ripped it off along with breaking the derailleur hanger. Now I did get fixed while on the trip, but I must confess that after I got back I didn’t ride my Trek and in fact stripped to build another bike that ended up getting sold. The frame has been sitting in my garage for years since the trip. I’ve talked about for years for getting a singlespeed and I know that I drove Anna crazy each year talking about it. Well finally the talking became reality and I started project rebuild. I got on Pricepoint and order a whole bunch of parts; After 2 nights of work its finally finished, its got an 18t rear cog, cross levers, RockShox Seatpost, and I put my old Crank Bros Mallet Pedals so this bike could be ridden with or without my riding shoes. I also added a Delta MegaRack on the rear for when we all goto the Hilton Head it will be able to hold my fly rod tube. Its an awesome setup and glad to have it ready to roll.

Project Rebuild…

For those of you that have met I’m sure you’ve heard about me talk about my “my trip”, for those of you who haven’t I’ll give you a brief rundown. My trip was a cross country bike trip from Virginia Beach, VA to Cannon Beach, Or. I did this trip back in 2004 and as fate would have it met my wonderful wife right before it. The trip was with a group called Bike and Build, this great organization was created by a man named Marc Bush and was made to help spread the word about the need for Affordable Housing. For this trip each rider (usually a college student) must raise $4000 for the trip and with the raised money they will be given a bike and the task of riding over 4000 miles and helping build houses along the way and donating money at each town. It was the experience of a lifetime that I will never forget, now this brings me to this post.

The bike I was given was a Trek 1000, that I absolutely demolished while on the trip. While on the trip I broke 2 rear wheels, snapped a chain that wrapped around the rear derailleur, ripped it off along with breaking the derailleur hanger. Now I did get fixed while on the trip, but I must confess that after I got back I didn’t ride my Trek and in fact stripped to build another bike that ended up getting sold. The frame has been sitting in my garage for years since the trip. I’ve talked about for years for getting a singlespeed and I know that I drove Anna crazy each year talking about it. Well finally the talking became reality and I started project rebuild. I got on Pricepoint and order a whole bunch of parts; After 2 nights of work its finally finished, its got an 18t rear cog, cross levers, RockShox Seatpost, and I put my old Crank Bros Mallet Pedals so this bike could be ridden with or without my riding shoes. I also added a Delta MegaRack on the rear for when we all goto the Hilton Head it will be able to hold my fly rod tube. Its an awesome setup and glad to have it ready to roll.

Leave a Reply

