Fly Fishing, Fly tying, Mountain Biking

Clean station and new pattern…

From time to time, everyone needs to do a deep cleaning and mine came today…I straightened up the basement and my desk, needless to say it definitely needed it.

20110821-103837.jpg

After that it was time to tie up a pattern that I was thinking of yesterday while on the water. As you have probably read, I love fishing dry flies especially a hopper pattern. One of my favorites is the PMX Hopper pattern, my only issue with it is that once it get really wet like any dry it sinks horribly. I was thinking about replacing the body instead of floss over elk hair from the tail with foam. So I added to pieces of yellow foam and this is what I came out with. From the looks of it I’m pretty happy with it, now I just have to get on the water with it.

20110821-110946.jpg

20110821-110933.jpg

Leave a Reply

